Otoyomegatari by Karou Mori

Set along the Silk Road that connected Asia with the Mediterranean world, including North Africa and Europe in the 16th century. The story of Amira, a woman skilled in archery and horsemanship, sent to marry Karluk, a boy from another village who is 8 years younger than her. But all is not well, as her village decides to take her back…

But this manga is so much more than that. There everything in this manga: love, food, tradition, wedding, and even war. This slice of life manga is one of the best ones that I have ever read so far, and I am not even considering the art style. Just the story and its characters fill your heart with happiness and love. The simplicity of the story coupled with the complex and GORGEOUS art is all that you could ask for.

Otoyomegatari was again, recommended to me by Vaishnavi. When we first became friends, over three years ago, she sent me a screenshot of the very first panel of this manga:

wp_ss_20170518_0011

I fell in love, instantly. It’s honestly not hard to fall in love. I couldn’t and didn’t read it straight away, because I wasn’t that much of a fan of manga back then. So when I did start reading manga all over again, Vaishnavi recommended this to me.

More like, “RAD IT READ IT READ IT”.

And I did. I was not one bit disappointed.

This manga isn’t just about Amira and Karluk. There are other stories, other brides’ stories in this, but in the end, we want Amira and Karluk back, and we get them, even if it is for a short bit now and then. Each story is cute and romantic and so lovely that you will end up screaming for its cuteness and adorableness.

SPOILER ALERT

The culture is so vividly portrayed here. When Umar was changing his head gear into the one that Pariya got for him, she turned around, giving him privacy. But that didn’t matter between Karluk and Amira because they were already married. The stark differences between the couples who were married as opposed those who were arranged to get married were brilliant because the couples who were destined to get married had this really shy air about them. The blush lines were right under their eyes, which was so different from all the manga that I’d read. It made such a huge difference because it felt more realistic than any other manga.

We see the twins, Layla and Leyll and their urgency to get married, and their story was the funniest of them all. We also see a Princess/Queen, who persuades her husband to marry her best friend, who was widowed recently. We see stories of Amira’s brothers, and her oldest brother is so amazing. *swoon*

There is such a regal air to him. His back is always straight and he doesn’t slump down. He has all the makings of a king and a brilliant warrior. Oh well, that’s just me.

The scenes of food made my mouth water. I could almost smell the pilaf (which is basically biryani) and a ton of other things that I would LOVE to eat.

The whole manga hasn’t been scanlated yet, so I was able to read only till chapter 62, which filled me to the fullest.

I just loved it so much. So, please read it. You will not regret it. Vaishnavi and I promise.

There are some of my favourite panels just for the art work:

Here are my other favourite panels, in no particular order.

Please read it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

