Nineteen, Twenty-one by Yohan

I totally forgot that I read this manhwa!

And yes, it is a “manhwa”, name for Korean cartoons/comics.

Yun-lee is a girl who is carrying a huge emotional scar in her heart. Due to an accident, she lost 2 precious years of her life, the time period between 19 and 21 years old. Her life is empty. She is miserable, but still attending a preparatory school in an attempt to catch up with all the time she has lost. Suddenly, one day on her way to feed some stray cats, she comes across a young man who seems to have what she has lost… the period between 19 and 21 years old.

 

I read this right before Cat Street, and I really wonder how I forgot to write about it! Anyway, I loved this one. Again, it was recommended to me by Vaishnavi. Again.

I never had a good relationship with cats before. My parents never liked them and I never associated my self “closely” with animals, even dogs. And, My parents’ aversion to cats made me averted to cats, although, college has helped me ease it a bit. When I watched and read The Cat Returns, my dislike for cats didn’t reduce.

However, Nineteen, Twenty-One made me love all animals, including cats. This manhwa is so filled with pure love and selflessness. I was so moved by the two characters’ love for the cats that I almost started liking them!

Almost.

What I didn’t get was Yun-Lee’s whole agenda of missing year Twenty. I guess she means it was her last year as pretending to be an adult before actually becoming, the age I am at now. But she is 21, and she missed 20. So, the guy she befriends, is 19, and he helps her get her year 20’s experience back. Or so that’s what it says, but I didn’t understand a whole lot of it.

What I also really loved about this manhwa was how each chapter was named after a flower and it has been illustrated SO BEAUTIFULLY. The whole manhwa is in colour and I really really liked it.

My very first manhwa, and definitely not my last!

I have only three screenshots of this because I read most of it on my computer. Here they are!

Leave a Reply

