Mimi wo Sumaseba by Aoi Hiiragi

Where do I begin?!

This movie is one my top favourite Ghibli movies ever. It is one my all time favourite movies as well. Today, while I speed watched the for the millionth time, I had very mature thoughts coming in. I had to write about it because the movie itself is so damn inspiring. Here is today’s post on the movie.

In addition to all those thoughts, I kept wondering I could find extra material somewhere. A little scene cut off, thinking it was inappropriate whatsoever but guess what I stumbled upon: the knowledge that the movie was adapted from a manga. Why couldn’t I find this two years ago?!

For two years, I kept wondering and wanting more material. And now, I’d finally gotten it. I am really happy that I found it because, now my life seems a tiny bit complete (still needa glimpse of the future and older Shizuku and Seiji and a whole lot of other characters across various fandoms).

It was a lot different from the movie but I loved the whole thing. It was one of the cutest, sweetest manga ever and I enjoyed reading the four chapters there were. I wonder why Yoshifumi Kondō, the director of the movie chose this manga in particular. The changes he and Miyazaki sir made were perfect for this.

SPOILER ALERT (for both, the manga and the movie)

Seiji is an artist in this and I can totally see him as one. If they’d made him the same type of artist even in the movie, there wouldn’t have been a strong, believable, inspiring story. I am glad for the change, although, they could’ve made him into a painter on the side.

Seiji has a brother who is in a relationship with Shizuku’s older sister, Shio. This was adorable. I loved Kouji (Seiji’s older brother) who’s quirky and smart and insightful in a sort of a creepy-non-creepy way. There’s no mention of a brother in the movie but I would have liked to see it.

I am so glad for the addition of Muta in the movie. There isn’t any “Muta” in the manga, but a couple black cats, Moon and Luna (LOL) who are attached to Kouji and Seiji. I also liked this bit.

I also loved the many many bits where she just talks about listening closely. It was so intimate to the heart.

And the whole manga gave me the same feels as the movie did. It was short, sweet and absolutely lovable.

Sadly, I don’t have screenshots as I read it on my computer.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

    1. pari617 says:

      Thank you so much! It means a lot to me!
      Keep commenting, keep interacting!
      Have a good day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. pari617 says:

        I have both!
        Twitter: @parinitha_p
        Instagram: @pari617

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Great I will follow you now thanks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

