Start Over by J. Saman

I received this book as an e-ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

This is book two of the Start Again series, the review of which, is here.

I like to play by the rules. But when I get coaxed into crashing a party, I run into the last man I ever thought I’d see again, my one and only one-night stand, Luke Walker. It’s been ten years since we’ve seen each other, but our chemistry is just as palpable as it was that night so long ago. Only problem is, I’m leaving in one month for a pediatric fellowship across the country.

I like to keep everything close to my chest. But when I see Ivy Green again, the woman I was never able to get out of my mind, I want her. It doesn’t matter that my dark past and dangerous present mean I can’t keep her. That my secrets would destroy any shot at a real future. After all, she’s leaving in a month. What’s the worst that could happen?

Warning: strong language and moderate sexual content.

If you have read my review for the first book, Start Again, you’ll know how much I love this woman’s writing. And, if I thought, Kate and Ryan were the perfect characters to a perfect book, I was so, so wrong.

Luke and Ivy are the epitome of awesomeness. Not just singly, but put together, they are simply amazing.

You know when you love something too much, you can’t really put the love for it into proper words?

That’s what I feel right now, after rereading this book for the celebration of its release. But I will try and write a nice review for a book that I loved.

This story is mostly all highs and all lows. The times in the middle ground are perfect, like when Luke and Ivy do the “normal” things together, it’s just so cute that you’ll wish for your chance in life to come soon. Very soon.

I love the whole set up of the story. I love Ivy. I more than love Luke. I think Kate and Ryan and Claire are all so, so magnificent. I love Sophia (I can’t find synonyms for the word “love”) and I can see how even though they are poles apart, they still click (sort of like my sister and I).

And when you read quotes like this:

What do you do when you love someone who is bad for you?

What do you do when you love someone you know will hurt you again given the chance?

Or this:

“I’m in awe of you, Ivy, and that is as addictive as it is seductive. I walk away only to find I glow so much brighter in your light.”

It’s hard not to want to melt into a puddle of ink and be a part of their lives forever.

Consider this as me professing my love for a book that was absolutely splendid.


Rating: 5/5 (obviously)


Recommendation: Pick it up, guys, like right now!


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

