Seahorse by Janice Parait

The last thing I expected to feel after reading this book was love.

I don’t read a lot of books penned by Indian authors. I have tried; I have no prejudices. The ones I tried gave me bad experiences, which is why I am hesitant to buy such books. And I have such a hard time putting down all my thoughts.

But Seahorse tossed away all those feelings into the bottom of the Mariana Trench.

I will start with the writing first. How in the world does this woman manage to write so beautifully? This book whispered into my soul and took over my feelings when I was reading it. It managed to give me waves of nausea of my early years of college.

Coming of age stories are my favourite kind. They are so honest with you. It’s like having a long chat with a best friend after a long time. It’s refreshing, inspiring and leaves you thinking, when am I going to reach this point in life?

I didn’t like Nem at first, but as the story went on, my heart ached for him. As the book ended, I missed him. I missed his crazy thinking, his flashbacks with Nicholas, with Lenny. All of it.

Seahorse is set between two cities: Delhi and London. Each of the cities have been exceptionally described. Their differences were clear as a bell. This was another thing that I loved.

More people need to read this book. It isn’t just a simple coking of age story. It explores the very essence of humanity, love and sexual desires.

I will vow to read more books by Indian Authors. I just hope there are more books like this out there.

Leave a Reply

