The Fourteen Day Soul Detox by Rita Stradling

I received an e-ARC by the author and via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Volume One of the Novella Serial.

In the next fourteen days, I plan to:

Body

1) Cut back on my coffee intake.
2) Gain some of my weight back.
3) Start getting some exercise again (aside from having sex with Cameron). Yoga? I don’t know.
4) Sleep.

Mind

5) Take on my daughter’s school board.
6) Sell my coffee shop.
7) Go on a date with that hunky single dad from my daughter’s school.

Soul

8) Stop wearing my wedding ring.
9) Spread my husband’s ashes.
10) Forgive the woman who killed him.
11) Stop sleeping with her ex-husband.

12) Remember what love feels like.

13) Be happy.

The Fourteen Day Soul Detox is a novella serial that will be completed in six volumes. This volume includes ‘Day Zero, The Birthday Luncheon Intervention’ and ‘Day One: Dying a Slow Coffee-Deprived Death.’

This was a very different book from what I normally read. I liked it okay, but there were some things that could’ve been better.

When I learned about writing stories, the first thing that they told me was about the characteristics of story: characters, plot, conflict.

My only problem with this book? No conflict.

And I learned pretty quickly that without a conflict, the story is extremely, unreadably bland.

But I liked where the story went. I liked the fact that she’s trying so hard, no matter how late it is, and the fact that she is supported so much by her friends. I liked the format, which was unique and gave more insight into Jamie’s life.

I loved Sarah. I loved how Jamie always put her first, no matter what. But I think Jamie herself was too bland as a character.


Rating: 3.5/5


   Recommendation: For a real life make-over, this book is pretty good.


  

Leave a Reply

