As I Am by Annalisa Grant

on

I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

“You’re not invisible. You’re invaluable.”

When Kinley Carmichael looks in the mirror, she doesn’t see her blonde-haired, blue-eyed, size 4 twin sister. She sees her dark-haired, brown-eyed, size 12 self.

Kinley and her twin sister Addison are excited to start their second summer as counselors at The Camp at Lake Hollis. All Kinley wants is to earn enough money to meet up with her mother so they travel the world as professional photographers. All Addison wants is to work on her tan, seduce a boy, and build her fashion budget. And while Kinley and Addison couldn’t be more opposite, nothing has ever stopped them from being the best of friends.

It’s an especially great summer for Kinley as the official camp photographer and Notre Dame Quarterback Cal Harper showing interest in her. But when poet Miller Conrad arrives and rejects Addison’s advances, showing more interest in Kinley, true colors will shine and the sisters’ bond will be tested.

As Kinley and Miller’s connection deepens, Kinley feels like she can truly be herself without the internal scrutiny she’s developed in the shadow of her sister. But when Kinley inadvertently uncovers a terrible secret at the camp, Miller is left facing the demons of his own reasons for coming to Lake Hollis.

What was supposed to be the greatest summer of Kinley’s life turns out to be more life-changing than she ever imagined.

I really enjoyed it. It started out really slow for me, full of descriptions and not enough of a story line to begin with but then it escalated quickly and I finished it in a matter of hours!

I loved the story. I loved it because I have an older sister, and although she doesn’t nag me that much, I sometimes do whatever she asks me to, not questioning her and not thinking about it twice because she is my idol, in every way possible, so there. I could easily relate to what Kinley felt because I am also (sometimes) shy about my physical appearance, and nobody can do anything about it, including myself.

And while I loved the relationship between Miller and Kinley, I felt that it was a little bland, like, the had no choice but to fall in love. I did not like Miller much, despite what he went through and despite his mysteriousness. He did not have that “aura” of an artist.

But I did warm up to Cal. He, in the end, became a good friend of Kinley’s and thought he was a good friend. I loved Margaret. We need someone like her in every book so that we can learn new words!


Rating: 4.25


Recommendation: If you love coming-of-age novels as much as I do, you’ll love this one!


Leave a Reply

