Reasons to Love a Nerd Like Me by Becky Jerams

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Scotty Williams is the nerdiest 17-year-old at Havensdale College – and proud of it. However being a nerd can have its downsides, particularly when you’re constantly being targeted by the school bully Taylor Raven and his cronies. As Scotty tries to navigate his final college years with the aid of his best friend Olive, he also finds himself on the radar of the mysterious and intimidating Vincent Hunter, toughest guy in the Sixth Form. Is Vincent really as bad as he seems? Will Scotty’s darkest secret ever be revealed? Can he ever just finish his last few college years in peace? But most importantly… will any guy ever find the reasons to love a nerd like him?

The Wattpad hit “Reasons To Love A Nerd Like Me” by Becky Jerams comes to Kindle for the first time in a new and improved edition. With over 2.4 million reads and counting, the first draft has resonated with readers across the world and been compared to authors such as John Green and David Levithan. Recommended for fans of teen drama and unconventional romance.

*SPOILER ALERT*

When I read that Scotty Williams is a nerd and it’s a story of his love life, I just had to read it! Not many people have enough courage to make their main character a nerd and make their life this interesting. I’m not even kidding. Kudos to Becky on that aspect!

From the start, I just loved our quirky, nerdy Scotty and his equally nerdy best friend, Olive. I love what they have and how hard he tried mending their friendship when it was on the verge of breaking. I loved how he developed over the course of the book and his confidence—about himself, his body and his sexuality— is inspiring.

And from the moment Vincent and Scotty got together, THERE, I thought, Another Gay OTP. I’m not even sure if I’m supposed to have that many OTPs, but I couldn’t not make them one. They were that freaking adorable and I love perfectly flawed couples. They just seem so real.

There were times I wanted to fling my book against the wall out of sheer frustration. But I had to know what happened and if our hero made it back in one piece. So I clawed my way through the rest of the book, scared that it won’t be happy ending and that I’ll not be able to pick up the broken pieces of my heart.

I loved it. Every single bit of it. Even though sometimes it became like a teen soap-opera and was a little annoying with Taylor’s and Patricia’s parts, I read it. All because of my love for Scotty and Vincent and Olive. And in the end, I started liking Alexis, too!

Who would’ve thought?

And a huge round of applause to Scotty’s mother, who’s the coolest mom ever!


Rating: 4.5/5


Recommendation: To all those who love a good love story ❤


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

