The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

This book was one of the most well executed books that I’ve ever come across. This has to David Levithan’s masterpiece because if it isn’t, I don’t know which one is.

I’m used to Mr. Levithan’s writing. I’ve read Will Grayson Will Grayson, “Your Temporary Santa” in My True Love Gave To Me, which I particularly liked, Boy Meets Boy and Dash and Lily’s book Off Dares. All of them are one of a kind. But The Lover’s Dictionary is on a whole new level.

I loved the fact that there’s a lot mystery in it. We don’t see who the characters are, not their names, how they look like, where they work, where they live. Nothing. For me, this was the best part because these kinds of stories could happen anywhere.

As much I loved the mystery and the anticipation of the whole story going around in the form of dictionary entries, I didn’t get a picture of the whole story. I was just starting to get into it, when it just ends. It doesn’t even seem like a cliff-hanger, just an abrupt ending to what is an amazing love story.But if it was intended as an open-ended story, then I may love this book a little bit more. I’m mad at Mr. Levithan for that and it seems to me that John Green is rubbing off on him.

My rating: 3.5/5

Recommendation: People who love love-stories with a little of mystery and a whole lot of imagination in it will definitely love this book!

Leave a Reply

